The Board of Directors shall have general supervision and control of the business and affairs of the society. The Board is composed of one representative from each country/area as the society(ies) in that country/area; three to five Directors-at-large elected by Representative and/or Regular Members (officers). The Directors-at-large hold office for a period of four (4) years, coinciding with the term of office of the officers of the Society, or until such time as their duly elected successors have qualified.

>>Board Meeting
The regular meeting of the Board is held every year. One will be held during the regular biannual Conference, and the other will be held in Tokyo during the year when there is no regular Conference, or at such other times and places as the Board may determine. Meanwhile, a special meeting of the Board shall be held whenever called by the President or on written call of a majority of the Directors.

Highlight of recent Board Meetings

List of Board of Directors  (As of 14th April, 2020)

Title Name
President Jaehak OH(Korea)
1st Vice-President
2nd Vice-President Tohru TAMURA (Japan)
Secretary General Tetsuro HYODO (Japan)
Treasurer Shinya HANAOKA (Japan)
ISC Chairperson Yu-Chium CHIOU (Taiwan)
Representative from Each
Member Domestic Society
Li MENG (Australia)
Chhouk Chhay HORNG (Cambodia)
Derong WANG (China)
S. C. WONG (Hong Kong)
Andyka KUSUMA (Indonesia)
Sigon KIM (Korea)
Bounleuam SISOULATH (Lao PDR)
Mohamed Rehan KARIM (Malaysia)
Asralt BUYANTSOGT (Mongolia)
Khin Than YU (Myanmar)
Surya Raj ACHARYA (Nepal)
Jean-Paul THULL (New Zealand)
Ricardo G. SIGUA (Philippines)
Qiang MENG (Singapore)
Liang-Tay LIN (Taiwan)
Tran Tuan HIEP (Vietnam)
Directors-at-large Akimasa FUjiwara (Japan)
Kyung Soo CHON (Korea)
Ex-Officio Members
President Emeritus Hideo NAKAMURA (Japan)
Former President Primitivo C. CAL (Phillipines)
Shigeru MORICHI (Japan)
Kyung Soo CHON (Korea)
Cheng-Min FENG (Taiwan)
Tetsuo YAI (JAPAN)



The Scientific Committee assists the Directorate of the Conference, and ensures a high level of scientific quality of the Conference, among others, with the call for papers, invited papers, the selection of contributions to be presented and contributions to be published, and the recommendation of the candidates for awards and recognition.The Scientific Committee consists of a chair, an appropriate number of session organizers.The Chair of the Scientific Committee shall manage the whole organization of the Conference in terms of its scientific aspects such as, coordinating session organizers of the Conference, and reporting to the Board the program of its activities.

 Strategies 2007 of EASTS-ISC

>> Website of EASTS ISC



The Conference Committee provides overall directions and guidance, and decides on the general program structure of the regular Conference in cooperation with the International Scientific Committee.


SECRETARIAT (as of 1 September, 2019)

Department Name Affiliation
Secretary General Naohisa OKAMOTO Professor,
University of Tsukuba
Deputy Secretary General Shinya HANAOKA Professor,
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Department for Research Shintaro TERABE Professor,
Tokyo University of Science
Yasunori MUROMACHI Associate Professor,
Tokyo Institute of Technology
PHUN Veng Kheang Lecturer & Researcher,
Institute of Technology of Cambodia, Cambodia
Department for General Affairs Kazuyuki TAKADA Professor,
Tokyo Denki University
Karl N. VERGEL Associate Professor,
University of the Philippines Diliman
Tetsuro HYODO Professor,
Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology
(also Treasurer of EASTS and Secretary General of EASTS-Japan)
Seiji IWAKURA Professor,
Shibaura Institute of Technology
Taro ARATANI Research Fellow,
National Maritime Research Institute
SunKyung CHOI Research Fellow,
Japan Transport and Tourism Research Institute
Department for Public Relations
Daisuke FUKUDA Associate Professor,
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Naoyuki TOMARI Associate Professor,
Tohoku Institute of Technology
Mio SUZUKI Associate Professor,
Tokai University
Department for Membership Takeshi KURIHARA Associate Professor,
Toyo University
Hirokazu MATSUMOTO Researcher,
Regional Futures Research Center
Department for Financial Support Terumitsu HIRATA Associate Professor,
Ibaraki University
Tomoya KAWASAKI Assistant Professor,
Tokyo Institute of Technology
Department for External Affairs Naohiko HIBINO Associate Professor,
National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
Secretary Noriko YOSHIDA Secretary,
EASTS Secretariat