Eastern Asia Society for Transportation Studies Eastern Asia Society for Transportation Studies
Thanks to all of you from Chair of EASTS-ISC

On 26 September 2016.

Dear all EASTS members,

At the EASTS board meeting held in Ho Chi Min on September 12, 2016, it was approved that I would pass the chair of EASTS-ISC after spending 5 years succeeding Prof. Ieda. And I handed it over to Dr. Jaehak OH. I would like to deeply appreciate the continuing cooperation and support of you and all ISC members.

Dr. OH is now the vice president of the Korea Transport Institute, has long enough career as an academic and practical researcher. He has already formed a team consists of capable members, and had a hand-over meeting with the former ISC secretariats. I am sure that the new team will work more actively and achieve unsolved works under his strong leadership.

During the last 5 years, with the voluntary and dedicated contributions of ISC members, we made effort as follows:

- introduced the new category of reviewed paper and non-reviewed paper, in order to extend the field of EASTS from academic as well as practical members and to simplify the whole review process for paper screening,
- established a new paper award entitled "OCDI Takeuchi Yoshio Special Award" with the sponsorship of the Overseas Coastal Area Development Institute of Japan,
- called for special issues of ATS (Asian Transport Studies) to open general editors over the world, and besides, to give general authors more opportunities to submit papers,

Lastly but not least I would like to ask you all to share my deepest appreciation to the uncountable contribution of Prof. Toshiyuki Okamura, Tetsuo Shimizu, Makoto Tsukai, Junyi Zhang and Kiichiro Hatoyama, who worked with me as the members of ISC secretariat. I could not realized the above achievements without their completely unselfish efforts.

There still remain unsolved issues. In particular, the qualifying and disseminating ATS journal with a science citation index is in high demand across EASTS members. I would like to do what one can for the most urgent issue with Prof. Tetsuo Yai, the EASTS president, Dr. Jaehak Oh, the ISC chair and the new ISC members.

Thank you very much again,

Akimasa Fujiwara, Dr.
Professor, IDEC, Hiroshima Univ.

Back to top
Copyright 2016. Eastern Asia Society for Transportation Studies. All rights reserved.